Tags

, ,

aoife new

I want to thank Humeira Kazmi for inviting me to this Blog Tour/Hop. Humeira is my co-author in the Aoife & Demon trilogy and author of the upcoming novel ‘Love Me Do.’ Visit her website http://www.humeirakazmi.com/ for more.

What am I working on?

I am currently working on my fantasy fiction novel as well as a personal blog.

The sequel is the second book in the Aoife & Demon Trilogy. Yes, there are three books in the series and not two as thought by some. Rise of the Syhlain, after Cursed be the Syhlain, is a much darker book than the first and the readers will see Aoife mature into the destined leader she was meant to be. She will learn more about her past and secrets will be revealed. Demon will also go through some personal revelations, and both together will journey to Khuzdoh, creating new alliances as well as finding new enemies on the way. It should be out by the end of this year. Time to read book 1 again.

My personal blog, which I try to write once a month, is generally about Pakistan.

How does my work differ from others of its genre?

My work is different quite simply because it is not copied or based on anything I have read anywhere. My style of writing is very much my own and with Fantasy being a genre where ideas don’t have limits, I feel I fully exploit that.  I always like to quote an English teacher of mine, from school, who once criticized my writing by saying “your imagination is out of control.” Turns out, that is actually a good thing and what sets you apart.

My blog, on the other hand, is mostly based on my personal perception and I prefer to use satire and humor to get what I feel is the truth, across.

Why do I write what I do?

I have grown up reading fantasy, starting from Enid Blyton, to Roald Dahl, to Tolkien, to J.K. Rowling, so it was but natural that I follow suit and write it as well. I also like the idea of adding little cultural bits in the book to give the reader something new. A new language was created just for Aoife & Demon even. Native speakers will recognize a lot of Persian and Urdu references as well.

And quite frankly, ‘Why do I write what I do?’ There is nothing quite like the feeling like when you are holding the book you wrote, in your hand.

I started writing the blog a few months ago, after being encouraged by close friends, to put my thoughts on paper. I had not been particularly vocal about things in the past and it frustrated me to see many others who were, to mostly sweep things under the carpet. Most preferred to paint a rosy picture, ignoring the ugly and thus the reality. I have always felt, that to fix an issue, you have to be aware of it first, that it actually exists. So, I write my blog.

How does your writing process work?

When writing the first draft of my book, there is none. I don’t follow guidelines to write, I don’t follow timetables, I don’t follow deadlines either. I write when I want to write, at any given hour (dodging the glares from my coauthor). It could be 3 am in the night or 8 am in the morning, I just write when I feel like it. I embrace the writer’s block and do other things when going through it. I don’t stress about it either. Once the first draft is done, that is when the work truly starts. Reading, re reading, correcting, changing, editing, and then reading some more. There are no gaps and no room for relaxation then. The writer’s block, should it arrive, is quickly shoved aside. The 3rd or 4th draft is what goes to the editor after which, the book is published.

My blog is written very much in the same way. I like to think that; a non-stressful approach increases the quality of one’s writing.

I self published initially, after which, my book, Aoife & Demon: Cursed be the Syhlain, was picked up by a commercial Publisher in the US. In my opinion, both forms of publishing work.

I would like to invite two people on this blog tour, who I think have a great future ahead of them in the writing field.

My invitee to this blog hop is Matthew Mitchell. He is a sci-fi/fantasy writer, gamer, LARPer and all around alpha-nerd, ready to publish his new novel Beyond the End.

Join him at : https://www.facebook.com/matthew.mitchell.50309

My invitee to this blog hop is James Worley, a multi-genre geek with a love for computers, games, astronomy, science and books. He is the author of Exile’s Army and a number of other short stories, to be published soon.

Join him at : https://www.facebook.com/james.worley3

If you enjoyed this post, then do share and tweet about it. Spread the good word! #ShamilaGhyas  #MondayBlogs

 

